A descriptive review on the secret life of beesby sue monk kidd

This book could have gone off the deep end real easy.

Sue monk kidd childhood

Please review your cart. In practice, Lily is raised by the black housekeeper, Rosaleen. Jul 11, Dolly rated it it was ok Recommends it for: people who like Southern-flavored coming-of-age books and Shelves: thought-provoking I confess to being a little hesitant going into this book. The Secret Life of Bees is a good read-a-like for The Help, for they have similar themes - the south, the civil rights movement and strong women. Lily's relationships with black women and men and the town's willingness to ignore them are not entirely realistic; however, The Secret Life of Bees does a good job of conveying the underlying tension and inequalities that existed in the South in the s. It is, after all, that most cliched and irritating of literati faves: a coming-of-age story set in the American South. You can remove the unavailable item s now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.

Inspired by her dad's tall tales, Kidd began keeping a journal that chronicled her everyday experiences. However, it was a work of fiction, The Secret Life of Bees, that truly solidified her place among contemporary writers.

The clue was the name of a town, Tiburon, South Carolina. The whole book was a quest for independence, I think. For instance, despite the predictability of telling such a tale from the young girl's point of view, I thought the decision worked here.

The book almost achieved that. But Lily is a survivor and an optimist, and her naive faith drives this book.

sue monk kidd goodreads

One hot summer day, Rosaleen gets into trouble with some of the white men in town. When she was very young, her mother had died under mysterious circumstances.

In conclusion, the Secret Life of Bees was a very good book and I truly suggest you to try it out. Pros The Secret Life of Bees has loveable, well-written characters A sweet, Southern voice A compelling story full of mystery, longing, and love Easy to read--not too long Cons Not entirely realistic which isn't necessarily a con for everyone Description A motherless child searching for the truth about her mother and herself A black woman and white girl united in the South in the s Black Madonna Honey: the women who make it, the bees that produce it, and the spiritual figure The Secret Life of Bees Reviewed The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd is the story of Lily, a teenager on a peach farm in South Carolina whose mother died when she was young and whose father is abusive. Taking place in South Carolina in the s, The Secret Life of Bees explores race, love and the idea of home in turbulent times. The whole book was a quest for independence, I think. MC Lily is an intelligent, lonely young woman with an oppressive, angry father. Lily herself is absolutely charming. You submitted the following rating and review. The clue was the name of a town, Tiburon, South Carolina.
Rated 9/10 based on 12 review
Download
A Descriptive Review On The Secret Life Of Beesby Sue Monk Kidd